St Mary the Virgin Church
The church of St Mary the Virgin was originally founded in 670AD as a small monastic parish church. It would have been built using the inexpensive materials of mud and wood. Today, the presentchurch was started by the Saxons and enlarged and absorbed by the Normans. The chancel is typically 'Early English' in architecture and style, and the beautiful nave has remained in its present form since 1150.
St Mary's Church, traditionally called the 'Cathedral of the Marshes' boasts a set of eighteen superbly preserved Misericords (Quire Stalls). On the exterior walls of the tower, it is interesting to observe Roman red bricks, which were probably recycled from the Roman Villa located just to the N/E of the Abbey. An older (reputedly) Saxon turret is also incorporated into the massive Norman tower, carrying a belfry with a peal of five bells. St Mary's church spans centuries, but still retains an indescribable, peace-filled calm. We urge you to come and visit!
The Old Schools, conveniently situated in the churchyard, was origianlly the village school from 1847-1946. It's now put to good use by the church for community functions, and can be hired by local groups.
The church is open daily 9am - 4pm in Winter and 9am - 6pm in Summer
Wheelchair use - free
Public toilets and car park within 100m
Facilities for hearing impaired
Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome